Survey Final Animation

 

Every artist has their own unique style. Whether they create a piece for themselves, for broadcast, or for commercial use, each artist’s individual aesthetics can be seen. My final animation models Michael Dudok de Wit’s more simplistic style.

Michale Dudok de Wit used more simplistic images, but the way in which he animated them really breathes life into his work. While there is no emotion expression from the face, he more than makes up for it with the way in which his characters move. In “Father and Daughter,” you can see the high energy of the little girl with her quick movements. The coloring is always very soft and smooth, and the colors are lighter and more subdued when  he is not using black and white to illustrate his scenes.With the color that he does use, the quality looks very similar to water color paint. De Wit uses more of the basic geometric shapes for his backgrounds. Even the people he draws are not very heavily detailed. In his short “The Monk and the Fish,” de Wit’s main character has at most four different parts to him: his head, his hands, his body (which is one solid form), and his feet, which are not visible most of the time.  With how smoothly most of his characters move, I would say that de Wit relies on rotoscope for body movement. For example, in “Father and Daughter” the way the bicycles are pedaled look too accurate to be anything but rotoscope. The walking sequences are also very smooth; they would not look as such without at least a reference of how people walk to look at.

The elements that I tried to adapt to my animation were the more simplistic forms, the color, and the rotoscope element. I used simple rectangular shapes to create my buildings, and the face of the character I created is basic as well. I also used circles to show the people moving about in the distance. When coloring my images, I chose to use actual water color paint to try and capture the same smooth shading seen in de Wit’s work. However, I wanted to leave the images at the end of the film without coloring to further show the drain of life in the city. My rotoscope element comes from the short walk sequence of the lone individual walking across the screen.

In the elements I did choose to adapt from de Wit, I feel like I was relatively successful. I believe I kept true to the more simplistic design theme that he shows within his work. The aspects I could improve upon would be the way he expresses emotion. He does not use any close-ups of people, but I felt like I would not successfully get the image across without it. Also, my character’s movement is not very expressive while his are always very expressive. I also could have tried more for the soft coloring of my background like de Wit had.

This entry was posted in Time-Based and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

